

For immediate release

## New Members Elected

BETHESDA — The National Council on Radiation Protection and Measurements (NCRP) elected seven new members and seven returning members to Council. The election results were reported at the 49th NCRP Annual Business Meeting on March 12, which was held in conjunction with the 2013 NCRP Annual Meeting on the topic of *Radiation Dose and the Impacts on Exposed Populations*.

NCRP was chartered by Congress in 1964 under Public Law 88-376 to serve as a nonprofit organization that represents a national resource on topics related to radiation protection and radiation quantities, units and measurements. NCRP's mission is to formulate and widely disseminate information, guidance and recommendations on radiation protection and measurements which represent the consensus of leading scientific thinking. The Council's mission also encompasses the responsibility to facilitate and stimulate cooperation among organizations concerned with the scientific and related aspects of radiation protection and measurements.

There are 100 elected members of the Council, who are recognized as leaders in many scientific fields of relevance to radiation protection and measurements in medicine, homeland security, environmental protection, nuclear technology, and public and occupational radiation exposures. Additional information about NCRP is available online at <a href="http://NCRPonline.org">http://NCRPonline.org</a>.

The newly elected members of Council and their affiliations are:

Richard R. Brey Idaho State University

Donald A. Cool U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

Francis A. Cucinotta

Wayne D. Newhauser

Ehsan Samei

NASA Johnson Space Center

Louisiana State University

Duke University Medical Center

George Sgouros Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

Daniel O. Stram University of Southern California

Members of Council who were reelected to another six-year term on Council are:

Kimberly E. Applegate Jill A. Lipoti

Stephen Balter Ruth E. McBurney Ronald E. Goans Chris G. Whipple

Timothy J. Jorgensen

The National Council on Radiation Protection and Measurements

7910 Woodmont Avenue, Suite 400 Bethesda, Maryland 20814-3095 Telephone: (301) 657-2652

Fax: (301) 907-8768 http://NCRPonline.org http://NCRPpublications.org The following individuals were elected as Distinguished Emeritus Members in recognition of their outstanding contributions to NCRP's scientific program:

Thomas B. Borak Ann R. Kennedy Leslie A. Braby David S. Myers

## Elected Officers were:

President John D. Boice, Jr.
Senior Vice President Jerrold T. Bushberg
Secretary / Treasurer James R. Cassata

## Elected to the Board of Directors:

James A. Brink
Paul M. DeLuca
William F. Morgan
Donald P. Frush
Bruce A. Napier
Raymond A. Guilmette
Kathryn D. Held
Richard E. Toohey

Paul A. Locke

The President and Senior Vice President are automatically Directors.

For additional information contact NCRP Executive Director, James R. Cassata, PhD, CHP at <a href="mailto:cassata@NCRPonline.org">cassata@NCRPonline.org</a>, 301-657-2652 (x20) or 301-907-8768 (fax).